While the success of any organization is the sum of the efforts and dedication of its membership, the focus of those efforts is entrusted to their elected and appointed leadership.

At the VFW Department of New Jersey, we are fortunate to have a proud history of dedicated individuals who have been willing to serve as leaders who helped take us to new heights in Service to Veterans.

On the following pages, please take a moment to meet the key leaders of our New Jersey Veterans of Foreign Wars for the 2018-19 year at both the Department (state) and District levels.


William Thomson

National Council Member - Marines


Duane Sarmiento

Commander - Navy

Barbara Kim-Hagemann

Sr. Vice Commander - Army

Brian Wiener

Jr. Vice Commander - Navy

Ken Hagemann

Adjutant / Quartermaster - Marines

Luddie Austin

Judge Advocate - Army

Josh Moline

Surgeon - Marines

William Bleiler

Chaplin - Army

Chad Kent

Chief of Staff - Air Force

William Young


Josh Hansen

Service Officer

Daniel Wine

Assistant Service Officer

Carey Pritchett

Past State Commander - Air Force


Bernard Kerwin

District 1 Commander

John Chrzenowski

District 2 Commander

Jennifer Long

District 3 Commander - Army

Cheryl (Kit) Turner

District 4 Commander

Jay Boxwell

District 5 Commander - Navy